The Blue Jar Story Book

The Blue Jar Story Book

77 Pages · · 532.6 KB · 524 Downloads· language English
Published By publisher of ebook Forgotten Books
File Name: The-Blue-Jar-Story-Book.pdf
download icon download icon download icon download icon download icon 4.5 Avg rating400 Votes


“The Blue Jar Story Book” is a collection of short stories by Maria Edgeworth, first published in 1842. The stories are aimed at children and are designed to teach moral lessons in an engaging and entertaining way. The book contains several stories, each with its own unique moral message. In this review, we will take a closer look at the book, its stories, and its overall impact.

Overview of the Book

The book’s title refers to one of its most popular stories, “The Blue Jar.” This story tells the tale of a little girl named Rosamond who disobeys her mother and breaks a valuable china jar. Through her mistake, Rosamond learns the importance of self-control, obedience, and putting the needs of others before her own desires. The story is a great example of the themes that run throughout the entire book.

Other stories in the book include “The Little Merchants,” “The Orange Man,” and “The White Pigeon.” Each story has its own moral lesson. And is tell in an engaging way that is sure to capture the attention of young readers.

Themes and Messages

The stories in “The Blue Jar Story Book” are all about teaching moral lessons to children. Some of the themes that run throughout the book include:

  1. Self-Control: Many of the stories in the book teach children the importance of self-control. Whether it’s resisting the urge to touch something they shouldn’t or learning to control their temper. The characters in these stories all learn the value of keeping their impulses in check.
  2. Obedience: Another theme that runs throughout the book is obedience. The characters in the stories learn that there are consequences for disobeying their parents or authority figures. That it’s important to follow rules and instructions.
  3. Kindness and Empathy: Several of the stories in the book emphasize the importance of being kind to others and thinking about their feelings. Whether it’s helping someone in need or showing compassion to those who are different. These stories teach children the value of empathy and understanding.
  4. Responsibility: Many of the stories in the book teach children about taking responsibility for their actions. Whether it’s admitting to a mistake or taking care of something valuable. The characters in these stories learn that they are accountable for their actions.

Impact and Legacy

“The Blue Jar Story Book” has had a lasting impact on children’s literature. It is a classic example of the moralistic storytelling that was popular in the 19th century. It continues to be read and enjoy by children today. The book has been praise for its engaging storytelling, memorable characters, and clear moral messages.

Maria Edgeworth was a pioneer in the field of children’s literature. And “The Blue Jar Story Book” is just one of the many books she wrote for young readers. Her stories have been credite with helping to establish the genre of children’s literature. And for popularizing the use of storytelling as a tool for teaching moral lessons.


“The Blue Jar Story Book” is a classic example of moralistic children’s literature. Its engaging storytelling and clear moral messages make it a great choice for parents and teachers looking to teach children important values like self-control, obedience, kindness, and responsibility. The book’s impact on children’s literature cannot be overstate, and it remains a belove classic to this day.